ASUS G74SX


Published by Marc Büchel on 27.07.11
Page:
« 1 ... 9 10 11 (12)

Conclusion

General   + -
Generally the ASUS G74SX leaves a good impression and it is a solid gaming notebook. We especially liked the big display with the very good colors as well as brightness. Additionally you get a well built keyboard. Impressive is the cooling system. Although the G74SX draws more than 140 Watts out of the wall the notbook isn't noisy at all. ASUS really did its homework very well.   - Display
 -Cooling
- Batter life
- Weight
       
Display / Input devices   + -
ASUS equipped the G74SX with a very good 17.3 inch display. The colors and contrast ratio as well as the brightness were able to convince us. Thanks to the NVIDIA shutter glasses which are included in the delivery you can even enjoy 3D with the 120 Hz capable display. Altoghter it is simply perfect for a gaming notebook.
The keyobard which includes a number pad as well as separate arrow keys also leave as very good impression. Therefore build quality and responsiveness are very accurate. The only weakness concerns the touchpad. Especially the scrolling functionality could have been better.
  - Display size
- Readability
- Colors
- 3D
- Touchpad scroll functionality
       
Performance   + -
Equipped with a Core i7-2630QM quad core CPU that features eitght threads clocked at 2.0 GHz there is plenty of performance slumbering. Ufortunately in PCMark 7 it wasn't able to outperform the ASUS Lamorghini VX7 which remains on the top. As soon as you start the gaming benchmarks you see where this thing has its roots. Therefore the GTX 560M is more than ten percent faster than its predecessor which can be found in the Lamborghini notebook.   - Gaming Performance  
       
Recommendation   + -
If you should be looking for a gaming notebook that comes with a big display and is able to display 3D then the G74SX will definitely be a good choice   - Gaming Notebook
- DesktopReplacement
- Mobile Computing
 
Rating
With the G74SX Gaming Notebook ASUS has a convincing product in its portfolio. Because of the touchpad which could have been better we give it four out of five stars.





Page 1 - Introduction Page 7 - DirectX 9 / Image Manipulation / Importing Pictures
Page 2 - Preview Page 8 - Web browsing / Data decryption / Windows Defender
Page 3 - Specifications / Chassis Page 9 - Futuremark
Page 4 - Display / Keyboard Page 10 - Gaming Benchmarks
Page 5 - Test Setup Page 11 - Battery Eater / Power Consumption
Page 6 - Video Playback / Downscaling Transcoding / Storage Page 12 - Conclusion


Discuss this article in the forums




Navigate through the articles
Previous article ASUS Sea Shell 1215B Sony Vaio F - VPC-F22S1E/B - Multimedia Notebook Next article
comments powered by Disqus

ASUS G74SX - Notebooks / Tablets - Reviews - ocaholic

ASUS G74SX


Published by Marc Büchel on 27.07.11
Page:
« 1 ... 9 10 11 (12)

Fazit

Allgemein   + -
Grundsätzlich handelt es sich beim ASUS G74SX um ein solides Gaming Notebook. Vor allem das grosse Display mit seiner sehr guten Frabdarstellung und der mehr als ausreichenden Helligkeit, vermag zu gefallen. Hinzu kommt die qualitativ hochwertige Tastatur und die angenehme Laufruhe trotz der Verlustleistung von mehr als 140 Watt. Bezüglich der Kühlung hat ASUS beim G74SX seine Hausaufgaben dementsprechend ernst genommen und hinterlässt einen sehr guten Eindruck.   - Display  -Kühlung - Akkulaufzeit - Gewicht
       
Display / Eingabegeräte   + -
Sehr angenehm ist, dass ASUS dem G74SX ein hochwertiges, 17.3 Zoll grosses Display spendiert hat, das 3D-fähig ist. Passend dazu, im Lieferumfang enthalten, findet man eine 3D-Sutter-Brille von NVIDIA. Gepaart mit einer Auflösung von 1920 x 1080 Pixeln, einer sehr guten Frabdarstellung sowie einer hohen Helligkeit ergibt sich eine für diese Geräteklasse perfekte Mischung.
Bei der Tastatur hat ASUS ebenfalls sehr gute Arbeit geleistet. Diese ist perfekt verarbeitet und hinterlässt einen äusserst positiven Eindruck. Das Touchpad ist den Taiwanesen leider nicht ganz so gut geglückt. Beispielsweise das Ansprechverhalten könnte besser sein und auch die Scroll-Funktion ist mehr schlecht als recht. Glücklicherweise sind die Tasten leichtläufig und die Oberfläche angenehm. Somit werden sich auch Gamer wohl fühlen, die dazu neigen, schweissige Hände zu haben.
  - Display Grösse- Lesbarkeit - Frabdarstellung - 3D - Touchpad Scroll-Funktion
       
Performance   + -
Ausgestattet mit einer Core i7-2630QM Quad-Core-CPU mit insgesamt acht Threads, die standardmässig mit 2.0 GHz takten, darf man vom ASUS G74SX durchaus einiges erwarten. Leider war es dem Gaming Notebook in PCMark 7 nicht möglich das Lamorghini VX7 aus demselben Hause vom Thron zu stossen. Nichts desto trotz befindet sich die Performance auf einem äusserst konkurrenzfähigen Niveau. Spätestens dann, wenn man 3DMark 11 und Vantage sowie Spiele-Benchmarks ausführt, zeigen sich die wahren Stärken. Auffallend ist aber, dass die GTX 560M lediglich zehn Prozent schneller ist als deren Vorgänger, welche im Lamborghini VX 7 verbaut wurde.   - Gaming Performance  
       
Empfehlung   + -
Sollte man auf der Suche nach einem Gaming Netbook sein, welches über ein grosses Display verfügt, das 3D-fähig ist und Performance satt bietet, dann wird man mit dem G74SX sicherlich eine gute Wahl treffen.   - Gaming Notebook - Desktop-Ersatz - Mobile Computing
 
Bewertung
ASUS hat mit dem G74SX Gaming Notebook ein überzeugendes Produkt im Portfolio. Aufgrund des Touchpads, welches noch verbessert werden könnte, erhält es vier von fünf Sternen.





Seite 1 - Einleitung Seite 7 - DirectX 9 / Image Manipulation / Importing Pictures
Seite 2 - Vorschau Seite 8 - Web browsing / Data decryption / Windows Defender
Seite 3 - Spezifikationen / Chassis Seite 9 - Futuremark
Seite 4 - Display / Tastatur Seite 10 - Gaming Benchmarks
Seite 5 - Testbedingungen Seite 11 - Akkulaufzeit / Stromverbrauch
Seite 6 - Video Playback / Downscaling Transcoding / Storage Seite 12 - Fazit


Diesen Artikel im Forum diskutieren.




Navigate through the articles
Previous article ASUS Sea Shell 1215B Sony Vaio F - VPC-F22S1E/B - Multimedia Notebook Next article
comments powered by Disqus

ASUS G74SX - Notebooks / Tablets - Reviews - ocaholic