ASUS Rampage III Extreme Black Edition - Layout et Design

Published by Marc Büchel on 02.03.11
Page:
« 1 2 (3) 4 5 »

Layout

Comme son nom l'indique, la Rampage III Black Edition est recouverte presque intégralement de noir. Seuls quelques composants ont échappé au noir, comme les deux ports SATA, le bouton power ainsi que le port en dessous de la prise d'alimentation ATX. La couleur noir mat de la carte est vraiment cool. Au final la Black Edition appartient bien à la série ROG d'ASUS, le design est vraiment d'enfer.


ASUS a équipé son bébé avec un étage d'alimentation digitale. Le processeur bénéficiera de huit phases, le QPI, northbridge ainsi que la mémoire auront trois phases chacun. De plus, ils ont tous été équipés de proadlizer, qui permet l'ajustement du comportement de l'alimentation en temps réel.


Au total, vous trouverez six slots mémoire sur l'ASUS Rampage III Black Edition. Sont officiellement supportés la DDR3-2200(OC) / 2133 (OC) / 1866 / 1600 / 1333 /1066 pour un maximum de 32GB. Le positionnement des slots DIMM a été bien pensé car ils ne se trouvent pas trop proche du socket et donc par conséquent cela n'engendrera pas trop d'incompatibilité entre les grands ventirads et les grands modules de mémoire. Certainement aidé par le fait que la Rampage III Black Edition est au format E-ATX.


Le northbridge ainsi que les convertisseurs de courant sont maintenus au frais grâce à une solution passive de caloduc. Le southbridge possède un bloc passif qui n'a pas été relié au système de refroidissement northbridge/VRM. Les blocs de refroidissement autour du socket ne sont pas trop gros, ce qui permet d'installer facilement un grand ventirad. Nous avons également remarqué la très haute qualité de fabrication des blocs de refroidissement et de leur poids assez conséquent.

  


Page 1 - Introduction Page 4 - Connectique et I/O
Page 2 - Page 5 - Conclusion
Page 3 - Layout  



Discutez de cet article sur le forum




comments powered by Disqus

ASUS Rampage III Extreme Black Edition - Layout et Design - Cartes mères Intel X58 - Reviews - ocaholic

ASUS Rampage III Extreme Black Edition - Layout and Design

Published by Marc Büchel on 02.03.11
Page:
« 1 2 (3) 4 5 »

Layout

Like its name already says the Rapage III Black Edition has been covered almost completely with a black painting. There are only a few places where you'll find red spots like for example the SATA ports, the start button as well as some aluminium fins at the chipset cooler. Furthermore you can also see that the PCB is covered in matte black which in our opinion looks quite cool. In the end the Rampage III Black Edition is no exception regarding ASUS' ROG-series: it is a very good looking a nicly designed motherboard.


ASUS equips their upcoming overclocking and gaming motherboard with a digital power design, whereas the CPU gets eight. Furthermore also QPI, northbridge and memory, each get three additional phases. Of all the components which can rely on separate phases CPU, QPI and DRAM also get a proadlizer. Another thing one can do with the Rampage III Black Edition concerns the realtime adjustment of power behaviour.


Totally you'll find six DIMM-slots on the ASUS Rampage II Black Edition. Officially supported are DDR3-2200(OC) / 2133 (OC) / 1866 / 1600 / 1333 / 1066 with up to 32 GByte capacity. Positioning of the DIMM-slots has been well thought which means they aren't too close to the CPU socket. Therefore there wont be too many incompatibilities between huge CPU coolers and big memory modules. What might also be a reason that there is more space than with other boards is the fact that the Rampage III Extreme Black Edition comes with an extended ATX form factor.


Northbridge as well as the current converters are being held at adequate temperatures via a passive heatpipe cooling solution. The southbridge got a passive cooling block which has not been integrated into the heatpipe loop of northbridge and VRM. The fact that the cooling blocks around the CPU socket aren't too big makes it comfortable to install a big aircooler. We also noticed the very high manufacturing quality of the cooling blocks and their weight which is quite immense.

  


Page 1 - Introduction Page 4 - Connectors and I/O
Page 2 - Specifications / Delivery Page 5 - Conclusion
Page 3 - Layout  



Discuss this article in the forums




comments powered by Disqus

ASUS Rampage III Extreme Black Edition - Layout and Design - Motherboards Intel X58 - Reviews - ocaholic