Review: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x4GB DDR3-2666 MHz CL10


Published by Christian Ney on 16.11.12
Page:
« 1 (2) 3 4 5 »

Closer Look

The Corsair Dominator Platinum kit comes in a very nice box. In fact there are two boxes attached to one another. In each box there are two modules which are packed in another plastic blister and placed in some soft foam. That's the best memory package we have ever come across. Unboxing the kit is like unboxing an Apple product, you get the same feeling. There is one minor flaw though: The specs aren't written on the box. There is just a sticker with the part number on it.





The design is very cool and futuristic. It's a nice improvement over the past Dominators that had almost the same design.
The one thing, which is very special about the these modules is the PCB. Usually the PCB of memory modules measures three centimeters. Corsair is using a PCB which measures four centimeters in height, where the additional centimeter has been made from copper almost entirely. As a result you get improved heat conductivity which leads to lower temperatures.
On one side of the modules you can find a sticker where you find the product name and on the flip side there is another sticker with the exact specs. Compared to other manufacturers you can find way more information about the modules than you usually do. There is the part number, the capacity of the module/kit, the rated frequency, timings, voltage, revision and the serial number. That's really everything you need to know. A silver Corsair logo is also present on both sides.
On top of this you find an aluminium bar with integrated LEDs. Replacement light bars to change the colour of the light aren't yet available.
The kit also features Corsair's Link interface.





With heatspreaders out of the way we see that Corsair chose to make use of Samsung's memory chips, the K4B2G0846D HCH9.




The SPD reading tells us more about the memory itself like the capacity, the name of the manufacturer, the JEDEC profiles stored which are in 3 accompanied with one XMP profile and the week of production. The part number is also displayed, awesome!
The SPD has been well recognized by the BIOS of our motherboard as well as by CPU-Z.




Page 1 - Introduction Page 4 - Results
Page 2 - Closer Look Page 5 - Conclusion
Page 3 - Photo Gallery  


Discuss this article in the forums




Navigate through the articles
Previous article Review: GeIL Evo Veloce 2x8GB DDR3-1866 MHz CL10 Review: AVEXIR Core Series 4x4GB DDR3-2800 MHz CL12 Next article
comments powered by Disqus

Review: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x4GB DDR3-2666 MHz CL10 - Memory > DDR3 - Reviews - ocaholic

Review: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x4GB DDR3-2666 MHz CL10


Published by Christian Ney on 16.11.12
Page:
« 1 (2) 3 4 5 »

Nähere Betrachtung

Corsair verschifft seine Module in einer hübschen Verpackung. Diese besteht aus zwei Teilen und beinhaltet selbstverständliche die Module selbst die wiederum in durchsichtigem Kuststoff liegen und anschliessend Schaumstoff gelagert sind. Insgesamt handelt es sich um eine der aufwändigsten Verpackungen, die wir bezüglich Arbeitsspeicher je zu Gesicht bekommen haben. Beim Auspacken erhält man auch effektiv ein Geühl, dass man es wirklich mit einem speziellen Produkt zu tun hat.





Das Design dieser Module ist zum einen typisch für Corsair's Dominator-Serie und zum anderen futuristisch. Üblicherweise misst das PCB eines Speichermoduls drei Zentimeter in der Höhe. Das PCB dieser Module misst dahingegen vier Zentimeter. Oberhalb der Speicherchips gibt es also zusätzliche Fläche die hauptsächlich aus Kupfer besteht und eine bessere Wärmeleitfähigkeit gewährleistet.
Ferner findet man auf der einen Seite einen Sticker mit detaillierten Informationen zu diesen Modulen. Bei genauerem Hinschauen, kann man die Modellnummer, die Kapazität, die Taktrate, die Timings, die Spannung sowie die Revision und die Seriennummer erkennen. Unterhalb dieses Stickers, findet man schliesslich das Logo sowie den Corsair-Schriftzug. Ein weiteres typisches Design-Element für diese Module ist der Balken, der über die Kühlelemente gespannt ist. Dieser wurde darüber hinaus mit LEDs bestückt, die einen hübschen Beleuchtungseffekt erzeugen. Ferner verfügen die Module auch über einen Anschluss für Corsairs Link System.





Nachdem wir die Heatspreader entfernten stellten wir mit Erstaunen fest, dass Corsair bei diesen Modulen auf Speicherchips von Samsung setzt. Genauer gesagt hadelt es sich um Chips mit der Bezeichnung K4B2G0846D HCH9.




Den SPD-Daten kann man beispielsweise die diversen JEDEC-Profile sowie auch XMP-Profile entnehmen. Hinzu kommt, dass auch die Produktionswoche ausgelesen werden kann. Schade, dass es keine hübsche "Part Number" gibt.




Seite 1 - Einleitung Seite 4 - Resultate
Seite 2 - Nähere Betrachtung Seite 5 - Fazit
Seite 3 - Galerie  


Diesen Artikel im Forum diskutieren.




Navigate through the articles
Previous article Review: GeIL Evo Veloce 2x8GB DDR3-1866 MHz CL10 Review: AVEXIR Core Series 4x4GB DDR3-2800 MHz CL12 Next article
comments powered by Disqus

Review: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x4GB DDR3-2666 MHz CL10 - Arbeitsspeicher > DDR3 - Reviews - ocaholic