Review: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x4GB DDR3-2666 MHz CL10


Published by Christian Ney on 16.11.12
Page:
« 1 (2) 3 4 5 »

Closer Look

The Corsair Dominator Platinum kit comes in a very nice box. In fact there are two boxes attached to one another. In each box there are two modules which are packed in another plastic blister and placed in some soft foam. That's the best memory package we have ever come across. Unboxing the kit is like unboxing an Apple product, you get the same feeling. There is one minor flaw though: The specs aren't written on the box. There is just a sticker with the part number on it.





The design is very cool and futuristic. It's a nice improvement over the past Dominators that had almost the same design.
The one thing, which is very special about the these modules is the PCB. Usually the PCB of memory modules measures three centimeters. Corsair is using a PCB which measures four centimeters in height, where the additional centimeter has been made from copper almost entirely. As a result you get improved heat conductivity which leads to lower temperatures.
On one side of the modules you can find a sticker where you find the product name and on the flip side there is another sticker with the exact specs. Compared to other manufacturers you can find way more information about the modules than you usually do. There is the part number, the capacity of the module/kit, the rated frequency, timings, voltage, revision and the serial number. That's really everything you need to know. A silver Corsair logo is also present on both sides.
On top of this you find an aluminium bar with integrated LEDs. Replacement light bars to change the colour of the light aren't yet available.
The kit also features Corsair's Link interface.





With heatspreaders out of the way we see that Corsair chose to make use of Samsung's memory chips, the K4B2G0846D HCH9.




The SPD reading tells us more about the memory itself like the capacity, the name of the manufacturer, the JEDEC profiles stored which are in 3 accompanied with one XMP profile and the week of production. The part number is also displayed, awesome!
The SPD has been well recognized by the BIOS of our motherboard as well as by CPU-Z.




Page 1 - Introduction Page 4 - Results
Page 2 - Closer Look Page 5 - Conclusion
Page 3 - Photo Gallery  


Discuss this article in the forums




Navigate through the articles
Previous article Review: GeIL Evo Veloce 2x8GB DDR3-1866 MHz CL10 Review: AVEXIR Core Series 4x4GB DDR3-2800 MHz CL12 Next article
comments powered by Disqus

Review: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x4GB DDR3-2666 MHz CL10 - Memory > DDR3 - Reviews - ocaholic

Review: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x4GB DDR3-2666 MHz CL10


Publié par Christian Ney le 16.11.12
Page:
« 1 (2) 3 4 5 »

De plus près

Les Corsair Dominator Platinum arrivent dans une très jolie boite. En fait il y'en a deux attachées ensemble. À l'intérieur de chacune d'elles se trouvent deux barrettes. Les barrettes sont bien au chaud dans un blister plastique au centre d'un support en mousse haute densité comme le montre la photo ci-dessous. C'est le meilleur et plus joli package pour mémoire vive que nous ayons jamais vu. Déballer ce kit c'est comme déballer un produit Apple, la sensation est la même. Il y'a un petit défaut quand même pas très très important: les spécifications ne figurent pas sur la boite. Il y'a seulement un code barre sur le dos de la boite avec la référence du modèle dessus.





Le design plait beaucoup et fait futuriste. C'est vraiment un bon pas en avant sur les anciens kits Dominator qui gardaient presque le même design. Seule la couleur changeait. Ici nous avons un PCB noir avec un système de refroidissement interne relié à une surface en cuivre en haut du circuit. Cette surface est en contact direct avec les ailettes en aluminium. C'est une des raisons pour laquelle ces modules sont si haut, le PCB est plus grand que d'habitude avec cette surface en plus (4cm vs 3cm).
Les puces mémoires sont protégées et maintenues au frais grâce aux dissipateurs noirs en aluminium. Sur le sticker du recto a été imprimé le nom de la gamme: Dominator Platinum. Au verso on retrouve un sticker avec toutes les caractéristiques du module/kit. Comme d'habitude chez Corsair on retrouve bien plus d'informations que chez les autres fabricants. Ici par exemple nous avons la taille du kit/module, la fréquence, les timings, la tension, la révision et le numéro de série. Bref tout ce qu'il faut quoi. Le logo argenté de la marque lui a été imprimé au centre du dissipateur sur chaque face.
En haut on retrouve l'ornement argenté qui abrite le tube lumineux personnalisable. Les tubes de replacement pour changer les couleurs des lumières ne sont pas encore disponibles.
Le kit est aussi compatible avec la technologie Link de Corsair.





Dissipateur retiré on s'aperçoit que Corsair a opté pour des puces mémoires Samsung, les K4B2G0846D HCH9.




La lecture du SPD nous informe sur la capacité, le nom du fabricant, les profiles JEDEC stockés qui sont au nombre de 3 accompagnés par un profile XMP et la semaine de production. La référence du modèle est aussi de la partie, super!
Le profile XMP a été correctement lu par le BIOS de la carte mère ainsi que par CPU-Z, pas de soucis à ce niveau là.




Page 1 - Introduction Page 4 - Résultats
Page 2 - De plus près Page 5 - Conclusion
Page 3 - Galerie Photo  


Discutez de cet article sur le forum




Naviguer à travers les articles
Article précédent Review: GeIL Evo Veloce 2x8GB DDR3-1866 MHz CL10 Review: AVEXIR Core Series 4x4GB DDR3-2800 MHz CL12 Article suivant
comments powered by Disqus

Review: Corsair Dominator Platinum 4x4GB DDR3-2666 MHz CL10 - Mémoire vive > DDR3 - Reviews - ocaholic